Music & Life

Tonight I want to write about music. Yes, em – yu – es – ai – si.
Based on Wikipedia, “music is an art form whose medium is sound. Its common elements are pitch (which governs melody and harmony), rhythm (and its associated concepts tempo, meter, and articulation), dynamics, and the sonic qualities of timbreand texture.”

Personally, I always assume that music is part of my life, it is one of the most beautiful grace in human life. I can’t imagine how life would be without music. Probably, it feels like a pen without ink, like cooking veggies without salt, or probably like pillow without bolster.

I do not want to classify myself as a person who understand music or an expert. just lovers, lovers of music, nothing else. For me, music has been like my soulmate, and I will search it to ease the pain in my heart, to calm my messed-up-feeling down, and even to provide many colors for a cheerful heart. 

Although I love it, I still have my own favorite genres. I am all about jazz, soul, blues, country, new age, folk rock, instrumental, new wave, and soft rock. Swing and ballad can be considered as my genres too. Shortly, I love the oldies but I’m not as old as it 😀

So, it has been my staple food to hear Sting, Coldplay, Enya, The Corrs, Shane Filan, Sade, Adele, James Blunt, U2, Josh Groban, Khalil Fong, Chris Botti, Lady Antebellum, Amos Lee, Garth Brooks, George Strait, Michael Buble, Michael Learns To Rock, Norah Jones, Piano Guys, Yiruma, R.Kelly, and many more.

But for some reason, I’ve addicted and still addicted to Sting! Yes, that Sting, Sting from The Police! That old man! (I think I have call him as “grandpa” 😀 ). Like the women in my office who are addicted to Fifty Shades of Grey (especially to Christian Trevelyan Grey), I am also addicted to that charismatic grandpa, haha..

Sting will always be a star of stars, no matter how old he is, or he has got wrinkles or white hairs, and he is essentially agnostic. His voice will always stay still as heavenly as ever. But honestly, I regret for something, I didn’t attend his concert in Indonesia. I wish I could at that time. Hopefully, he would like to make his concert again later. If I still have chance to attend it, I will ensure you that I will attend it.. Amennnn… *keeppraying*

But lately, I was recommended by my friend to listen a song from a band called “Bluesmates”. Currently, the band is competing in the Indonesian Rising Star.

While looking for their video, I also found a great-singer-to-be in that show, her name is “Reyna Qotrunnada”.

Wishing the best results to both of them.

[..] Modesty, propriety can lead to notoriety / You could end up as the only one / Gentleness, sobriety are rare in this society / At night a candle’s brighter than the sun

Takes more than combat gear to make a man / Takes more than a license for a gun / Confront your enemies, avoid them when you can / A gentleman will walk but never run

If “Manners maketh man” as someone said / Then he’s the hero of the day / It takes a man to suffer ignorance and smile / Be yourself no matter what they say [..]

(Sting – Englishman in New York)

Rgds,

Ws 😉

Thank you for your comments

